June

Staff Pick Reads

Linda Frenzel, MSLS

Camden Library Director

Linda's Picks:

Harry de Leyer first saw the horse he would name Snowman on a truck bound for the slaughterhouse. The recent Dutch immigrant recognized the spark in the eye of the beaten-up nag and bought him for eighty dollars. On Harry's modest farm on Long Island, he ultimately taught Snowman how to fly. Here is the dramatic and inspiring rise to stardom of an unlikely duo. One show at a time, against extraordinary odds and some of the most expensive thoroughbreds alive, the pair climbed to the very top of the sport of show jumping. Their story captured the heart of Cold War-era America--a story of unstoppable hope, inconceivable dreams, and the chance to have it all. They were the longest of all longshots--and their win was the stuff of legend. 

When Miss Tiffany Woodall assumes the identity of her half-brother after his death, she realizes she isn’t the only one with a secret to hide in this historical series debut, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Sherry Thomas.

1784 London. Miss Tiffany Woodall didn’t murder her half-brother, but she did bury him in the back garden so that she could keep her cottage. Now, the confirmed spinster has to pretend to be Uriah and fulfill his duties as the Duke of Beaufort’s librarian while searching Astwell Palace for Uriah’s missing diamond pin, the only thing of value they own. Her ruse is almost up when she is discovered by Mr. Samir Lathrop, the local bookseller, who tries to save her from drowning while she's actually just washing up in a lake after burying her brother. 

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable true story of the valiant rescue of priceless pedigree horses in the last days of World War II.


As the Russians closed in on Hitler from the east and the Allies attacked from the west, American soldiers discovered a secret Nazi effort to engineer a master race of the finest purebred horses. With the support of U.S. general George S. Patton, a passionate equestrian, the Americans planned an audacious mission to kidnap these beautiful animals and smuggle them into safe territory—assisted by a daring Austrian colonel who was both a former Olympian and a trainer of the famous Lipizzaner stallions. 

Erin's Picks:

Another A+ by author Ruth Ware! This book was phenomenal from the start. Reality tv with some murder and high stakes tension. I loved the main character and how down to earth she was and relatable. This book might not make you want to join a tropical vacation reality show, but it will make you want to read the whole book in one sitting!

Little Heaven is a must read for those who love the unexplainable, the paranormal and who don't mind an ending that isn't picture perfect. You will quickly become entranced into the plot and the main characters on this journey to the darkness.  

Before the hype of "The Housemaid" Freida McFadden was already writing best sellers. The Perfect Son is no exception. With its classic twists and turns to keep you guessing and a surprise ending. You will love this right along with all her novels. And you might think twice about your friends and families secrets..

Debbie's Picks: